HEA announces National Teaching Fellowship Scheme Awards and Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence finalists

Wednesday, 7 December, 2016

Fifty-five new National Teaching Fellows (NTFs) are revealed by the Higher Education Academy (HEA) today, alongside the finalists for a new team award for teaching in higher education, the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE).

A National Teaching Fellowship is the most prestigious individual award for excellence in teaching in higher education.

The fifty-five new NTFs represent institutions from across mission groups and are drawn from a broad range of subject areas. Successful nominees were nominated by their institutions and submissions had to show evidence of three criteria: individual excellence, raising the profile of excellence and developing excellence. The award winners are listed below.

The new CATE award, being piloted this year, recognises teaching excellence by teams at higher education providers.  The collaborative award is an important development which reflects the key role that teamwork has in promoting student success through learning and teaching.

  • The criteria for the CATE award are: ‘excellent practice’, teamwork, and the team’s dissemination plan. Teams will need to have shown direct student involvement in their work and excellent practice in relation to one of the following themes:
  • Assessment and feedback
  • Student retention
  • Employability
  • Staff development
  • Students as partners
  • Technology and social media.

Fifteen institutions, listed below, have been shortlisted for the award.  Six of these institutions will be awarded grants of £15,000 to disseminate their learning, and these will be announced at the formal celebration event to be held at the Merchant Taylors’ Hall, London, in late January 2017.

Professor Marshall, HEA Chief Executive, said, “I am so pleased the HEA has the opportunity to run these awards, and to help to disseminate the best practice they reveal. Celebrating great teaching, whether by teams or individuals, is really important and highlights just some of the great work in the sector to improve the student experience.  All the awards provide compelling case studies of best practice which we can share around the sector.  It’s also an opportunity for all of us to reflect on our own work, individually and as teams – what are we getting right, what can we learn, what could we do better?

“We have also had an excellent response to the new collaborative award and I would like to congratulate all the finalists in that category and, of course, all the new NTFs.  I’m sure the whole higher education sector will join me in agreeing that we are very proud of your achievements.”

There are now over 750 NTFs.  The NTF and CATE schemes are run by the HEA on behalf of the award funders: the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE), the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW), and the Department for the Economy in Northern Ireland (DfE). The schemes are open to staff whose teaching or support roles enhance the student learning experience.

National Teaching Fellows 2016 (All the individual profiles are here)

  • Professor Maggie Andrews University of Worcester
  • Dr Eylem Atakav University of East Anglia
  • Ms Rachel Barrell University of Worcester
  • Dr Victoria Burns University of Birmingham
  • Miss Elaine Campbell Northumbria University
  • Professor Peter Corvi University of Warwick
  • Dr Sarah Curran Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Ms Giskin Day Imperial College London
  • Ms Rachel Dickinson University of Warwick
  • Dr Sarah Dyer University of Exeter
  • Dr Sharon Edwards Buckinghamshire New University
  • Mrs Jennifer Field University of Greenwich
  • Dr Jennifer Fraser Birkbeck University of London
  • Dr Frances Garrad-Cole Bangor University
  • Mrs Kate Grafton Leeds Beckett University
  • Dr Raphael Hallett University of Leeds
  • Mr Matthew Homewood Nottingham Trent University
  • Dr Julie Hulme Keele University
  • Professor David Humphreys Open University
  • Professor Tansy Jessop Southampton Solent University
  • Dr Simon Jones Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, part of the University of South Wales group
  • Dr Mark J.P. Kerrigan Anglia Ruskin University
  • Dr Rachael-Anne Knight City University London
  • Mrs Margaret Low University of Warwick
  • Mr Andrew Middleton Sheffield Hallam University
  • Dr Liz Mossop University of Nottingham
  • Professor Hilary Neve Plymouth University
  • Dr Samuel Nolan Durham University
  • Dr Julia Pansini-Murrell University of Bradford
  • Dr Frands Pedersen University of Westminster
  • Ms Anne Phillips University of York
  • Dr Jess Power University of Huddersfield
  • Dr Natascha Radclyffe-Thomas London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London
  • Dr Natalie Rowley University of Birmingham
  • Professor Michele Russell-Westhead Pearson College London
  • Dr Stephen Rutherford Cardiff University
  • Dr Candice Satchwell University of Central Lancashire
  • Dr Sarah Scott University of Leicester
  • Dr Carl Senior Aston University
  • Dr Sarah Sherwin University of Wolverhampton
  • Professor Elizabeth Smart Sheffield Hallam University
  • Dr Christopher Stokes University of Sheffield
  • Dr Simon Thompson University of Sussex
  • Dr Gareth Thomson Aston University
  • Dr Jane Tobbell University of Huddersfield
  • Mr Jason Tucker Cardiff University
  • Professor Fiona Tweed Staffordshire University
  • Dr Sarah Underwood University of Leeds
  • Dr Susanne Voelkel University of Liverpool
  • Dr Tony Wall University of Chester
  • Mrs Sheena Warman University of Bristol
  • Dr David Webster University of Gloucestershire
  • Professor Chris Wilkins University of Leicester
  • Dr Naomi Winstone University of Surrey
  • Dr Jennie Winter Plymouth University

Finalist for the CATE awards (Team profiles are here)

  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Brunel University London                      
  • Imperial College London
  • Liverpool Hope University 
  • Newcastle University    
  • Northumbria University
  • Pearson College London
  • Plymouth University
  • Sheffield Hallam University    
  • Sunderland University
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Gloucestershire
  • University of Hull
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Liverpool