HEA announces National Teaching Fellowship Scheme Awards and Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence finalists

Thursday, 31 August, 2017

Fifty-five new National Teaching Fellows (NTFs) are announced by the Higher Education Academy (HEA) today, alongside the fifteen team finalists for the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE).

HEA Chief Executive, Professor Stephanie Marshall, said, “A National Teaching Fellowship is the most prestigious individual award for excellence in teaching in higher education. These awards represent a fantastic achievement by all 55 new NTFs. I am sure the whole sector joins me in applauding them in their success.

“I am also delighted that we have really high-calibre finalists for the Collaborative Award, and I congratulate each and every team.

“The new NTFs and CATE finalists represent some of the very best teaching in higher education and I am sure they will inspire others as we share their innovative practice and ideas across the sector. The UK is justifiably proud of its higher education sector and its reputation is enhanced by the examples of excellent teaching highlighted by these awards.”

The new NTFs are have been selected from the three participating nations - Wales, Northern Ireland and England - and come from across mission groups and from a broad range of subject areas. The NTFs were nominated by their institutions and submissions had to show evidence of three criteria: individual excellence, raising the profile of excellence and developing excellence.

The CATE recognises outstanding contributions to teaching by teams at higher education providers. The criteria for the CATE award are: excellent practice, teamwork, and the team’s dissemination plan. Teams will need to have shown they are working in collaboration with direct student involvement in their work.

Fifteen institutions have been shortlisted for the award. Six of these institutions will be awarded grants of £15,000 to disseminate their learning. The six teams will be announced at the formal celebration event for all these awards at Church House, Westminster, London, 1November 2017.

National Teaching Fellows 2017 (Profiles of the NTFs are here)

Dr Fabio Aricò, University of East Anglia

Ms Lerverne Barber University of Worcester

Mrs Sue Beckingham Sheffield Hallam University

Mrs Toni Bewley Edge Hill University

Professor Tim Birkhead University of Sheffield

Dr Victoria Bourne Royal Holloway, University of London

Dr Kim Bower Sheffield Hallam University

Mr Dominic Bygate University of Hertfordshire

Mrs Caroline Coles De Montfort University

Mr David Comiskey Ulster University

Dr Elizabeth Dobson University of Huddersfield

Dr Sally Everett Anglia Ruskin University

Dr Suzanne Fergus University of Hertfordshire

Mrs Sarah George University of Bradford

Dr Philip Hanna Queen’s University Belfast

Dr Catherine Hayes University of Sunderland

Dr Ruth Healey University of Chester

Dr Joanna Hendy Cardiff Metropolitan University

Dr Judith Holloway University of Southampton

Professor Alison Honour Oxford Brookes University

Dr Annie Hughes Kingston University

Mrs Julie Irwin Buckinghamshire New University

Dr Ilona Johnson Cardiff University

Professor Hisham Khalil University of Plymouth

Professor Ania Korszun Queen Mary University of London

Professor Andrew Kulman Birmingham City University

Dr Megan Lawton University of Wolverhampton

Dr Jacqueline Leigh University of Salford

Dr Colin Lumsden University of Manchester

Dr Lindsay Marshall Newcastle University

Dr Elizabeth McCrum University of Reading

Dr Fiona McCullough University of Nottingham

Mr Samuel Messam Bradford College University Centre

Dr Elizabeth Miles Coventry University

Ms Jayne Mothersdale Leeds Beckett University

Dr Matthew Nicholls University of Reading

Professor Mark O’Hara Birmingham City University

Ms Ros O'Leary University of Gloucestershire

Dr Angela O'Sullivan De Montfort University

Professor Pamela Parker City, University of London

Dr James Pickering University of Leeds

Dr Samantha Pugh University of Leeds

Professor David Read University of Southampton

Dr Alex Ryan University of Gloucestershire

Dr Henrik Schoenefeldt University of Kent

Dr Michael Scott University of Warwick

Dr Gill Seyfang University of East Anglia

Dr M Hasan Shaheed Queen Mary University of London

Dr David Smith Sheffield Hallam University

Mrs Hilary Wason Kingston University

Dr Dawn Watkins University of Leicester

Professor Renate Weller Royal Veterinary College

Professor Judith Williams University of Manchester

Dr Dylan Williams University of Leicester

Mr James Wilson University of Southampton

Finalist for the CATE awards  (Details about the CATE finalists are here)

Cardiff Metropolitan University

Kingston University

Staffordshire University

The Open University

Ulster University

University College London

University of Bath

University of Bedfordshire

University of Bradford

University of Cumbria

University of Huddersfield

University of Kent

University of Leicester

University of Sheffield

University of South Wales

The NTF and CATE schemes are run by the HEA on behalf of the award funders: the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE), the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW), and the Department for the Economy in Northern Ireland (DfE). (The Scottish Funding Council does not take part in NTFS).

There are now over 800 NTFs. Institutions can nominate up to three individuals per annum.  The schemes are open to staff whose teaching or support roles enhance the student learning experience. The NTF and CATE Schemes will run again in 2018; details will follow in due course.

For further information visit www.heacademy.ac.uk/ntfs