Higher Education sector celebrates teaching excellence

Thursday, 2 November, 2017

The achievements of 55 new National Teaching Fellows were recognised at an awards dinner at Church House in London last night. Alongside them, 15 teams from higher education institutions were recognised as finalists in the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE), with six of those being declared overall winners.

Professor Stephanie Marshall, Chief Executive of the Higher Education Academy said, “The sector is very proud to celebrate the work of its new NTFS and CATE finalists. National Teaching Fellows are recognised for their outstanding impact on student learning and the teaching profession.

“CATE finalists are being celebrated for their collaboration in teaching and learning, capturing creative and innovative practice impacting on student experience. All those being recognised are an inspiration to everybody in higher education. Well done to all of them. We look forward to working together to disseminate and share their great practice.”

Professor Rama Thirunamachandran, Chair of HEA Board and Vice-Chancellor of Canterbury Christ Church University added his congratulations, and said, “These awards highlight outstanding work and commitment to teaching and learning from all the individuals and teams involved. The learning from these examples of great teaching practice gives us the opportunity to enrich the student academic experience even more.”

National Teaching Fellows 2017 (profiles of the NTFs are here).

Dr Fabio Aricò, University of East Anglia
Ms Lerverne Barber University of Worcester
Mrs Sue Beckingham Sheffield Hallam University
Mrs Toni Bewley Edge Hill University
Professor Tim Birkhead University of Sheffield
Dr Victoria Bourne Royal Holloway, University of London
Dr Kim Bower Sheffield Hallam University
Mr Dominic Bygate University of Hertfordshire
Mrs Caroline Coles De Montfort University
Mr David Comiskey Ulster University
Dr Elizabeth Dobson University of Huddersfield
Dr Sally Everett Anglia Ruskin University
Dr Suzanne Fergus University of Hertfordshire
Mrs Sarah George University of Bradford
Dr Philip Hanna Queen’s University Belfast
Dr Catherine Hayes University of Sunderland
Dr Ruth Healey University of Chester
Dr Joanna Hendy Cardiff Metropolitan University
Dr Judith Holloway University of Southampton
Professor Alison Honour Oxford Brookes University
Dr Annie Hughes Kingston University
Mrs Julie Irwin Buckinghamshire New University
Dr Ilona Johnson Cardiff University
Professor Hisham Khalil University of Plymouth
Professor Ania Korszun Queen Mary University of London
Professor Andrew Kulman Birmingham City University
Dr Megan Lawton University of Wolverhampton
Dr Jacqueline Leigh University of Salford
Dr Colin Lumsden University of Manchester
Dr Lindsay Marshall Newcastle University
Dr Elizabeth McCrum University of Reading
Dr Fiona McCullough University of Nottingham
Mr Samuel Messam Bradford College University Centre
Dr Elizabeth Miles Coventry University
Ms Jayne Mothersdale Leeds Beckett University
Dr Matthew Nicholls University of Reading
Professor Mark O’Hara Birmingham City University
Ms Ros O'Leary University of Gloucestershire
Dr Angela O'Sullivan De Montfort University
Professor Pamela Parker City, University of London
Dr James Pickering University of Leeds
Dr Samantha Pugh University of Leeds
Professor David Read University of Southampton
Dr Alex Ryan University of Gloucestershire
Dr Henrik Schoenefeldt University of Kent
Dr Michael Scott University of Warwick
Dr Gill Seyfang University of East Anglia
Dr M Hasan Shaheed Queen Mary University of London
Dr David Smith Sheffield Hallam University
Mrs Hilary Wason Kingston University
Dr Dawn Watkins University of Leicester
Professor Renate Weller Royal Veterinary College
Professor Judith Williams University of Manchester
Dr Dylan Williams University of Leicester
Mr James Wilson University of Southampton

Finalists for the CATE awards (details about the CATE finalists are here). The six winners are in bold and marked with an asterisk:

Cardiff Metropolitan University
Kingston University
Staffordshire University *
The Open University *
Ulster University
University College London *
University of Bath
University of Bedfordshire
University of Bradford *
University of Cumbria
University of Huddersfield
University of Kent *
University of Leicester *
University of Sheffield
University of South Wales

Professor Marshall confirmed that the awards would be run again next year.

The NTF and CATE schemes are run by the HEA on behalf of the award funders: the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE), the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW), and the Department for the Economy in Northern Ireland (DfE). (The Scottish Funding Council does not take part in NTFS)

There are now over 800 NTFs. Institutions can nominate up to three individuals per annum. CATE began in 2016 and now has 12 winners.  The schemes are open to staff whose teaching or support roles enhance the student learning experience. Details of the NTF and CATE 2018 Schemes will follow in due course.