Higher Education Academy AwardsCelebrating teaching excellence in higher education

<strong>Higher Education Academy Awards</strong>Celebrating teaching excellence in higher education

The Higher Education Academy runs national and international awards recognising and celebrating teaching excellence on an individual, team and institution-wide basis:

National Teaching Fellowship (NTF)

National Teaching Fellows (NTFs) are exemplars of world class teaching in higher education. Their expertise inspires their peers and contributes significantly to the sector's efforts in continuously improving the student experience in teaching and learning.

The award has been running since 2000 and there are now more than 750 National Teaching Fellows, with 55 individuals receiving the award each year. On gaining the award, each NTF has a role to support the enhancement of teaching and learning in both the institution and the sector.

Find out more

Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE)

Introduced in 2016, the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) reflects the key role that teamwork plays in promoting student success through teaching and learning.

Six winners were announced in 2016, with another six set to be announced in 2017. Each winning team is awarded a grant to be spent over a three year period to support their project.

Find out more

Global Teaching Excellence Award (GTEA)

The Global Teaching Excellence Award (GTEA) is the first global award to celebrate and reward institutional commitment to the pursuit of teaching excellence in higher education and is open to all public and private sector universities and other providers of higher education. All participants have the opportunity to learn from the best and share best practice.

Judging of the award involves a rigorous two-stage process. External peer reviewers initially assess each institutional application in relation to three ‘domains of excellence’. The reviewers then generate an initial shortlist from which an independent judging panel of distinguished international educationalists from North America, Africa, Australia, Europe and East Asia select the finalists and overall winner.

The winner of the Global Teaching Excellence Award 2017 was the University of Huddersfield. The 2018 award is now open.

Find out more