Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence

New in 2016, CATE aim to celebrate collaborative work in teaching and learning and look to capture the creative and innovative practice that positively impacts on the student experience. Each award will recognise a team which has enabled a change in practice for colleagues and/or students at an institutional or discipline level.

Up to six awards will be made in 2017 in recognition of a team’s excellence. Each winning team will be awarded a grant (to be determined by the funding partners) to support their project to be spent over a three year period.

Nominations are now being accepted and will close on 10 May 2017.

Nominations must be submitted by the specified NTFS/ CATE coordinator in each institution. To register as the NTFS/ CATE coordinator and gain log in details for the online nomination system email

Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence

Benefits of winning a Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence

Gaining a CATE has a number of benefits for both individuals and their institutions.

Benefits to teams

Benefits to organisations 

Teams gain access to funding and support to further their projects, implement their dissemination plans and assess the impact of their work.

Increasingly used as a model to develop and extend university-wide schemes, aiming to raise the status of teaching and instil pride in the profession and student learning.

It opens doors – Team members can use the award as a springboard to progress their careers.

Can be a focal point for discussions about innovation and professional development – past NTFS funding has enabled NTFs to capitalise on their status and bid for extra funding for research and projects to enhance learning and teaching.

Join a national community of like-minded professionals who are passionate about teaching.

Can enable staff to cross boundaries, collaborating with colleagues in other disciplines and forging links with universities nationally and internationally.


How to apply

The process of submitting CATE applications has changed slightly this year as we move to using an online system for submissions. 

  1. In order to apply institutions must nominate one NTFS/ CATE contact or coordinator who will inform the HEA team of their intention to send in a nomination. You can do this by emailing
  2. Once you have pre-registered a username and log in will be sent to you
  3. Each institution can submit a nomination for one CATE
  4. To complete the nomination submission the NTFS/ CATE contact or coordinate must upload all required documents to the online system in a Zip file before the closing date, 10 May 2017
  5. Nominated teams will be informed to whether they have been shortlisted in August 2017 and the winners will be announced during the NTFS award ceremony in November 2017.

Get your application form and guidance notes now

Further guidance for applications

Past winners

Each of the past winners has demonstrated evidence of collaborative work in teaching and learning, capturing creative and innovative practice which positively impacts on student experience.

Each award will recognise a team who have enabled a change in practice for colleagues and/or students at an insitutional or discipline level.

Winning teams will recieve a monetary award and support for the awards team to implement their dissemination plan and assess the impact of their work.

Winners from CATE 2016

  • Brunel University London
  • Northumbria University
  • University of Gloucestershire
  • University of Hull
  • University of Liverpool
  • University of Sunderland 


If you would like to gain some inspiration and find out more about past winners review the full directory of finalists below.

Directory of past finalists