National Teaching Fellowship

The NTFS recognises, rewards and celebrates individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student learning and the teaching profession.

Up to 55 individual awards will be made in 2017, in recognition of individual excellence. On gaining the award, each NTF has a role to support the enhancement of learning and teaching in both the institution and the sector.

Nominations are now being accepted and will close on 25 April 2017.

Nominations must be submitted by the specified NTFS/ CATE coordinator in each institution. To register as the NTFS/ CATE coordinator and gain log in details for the online nomination system email

National Teaching Fellowship

Benefits of becoming a National Teaching Fellow

Gaining National Teaching Fellow status has a number of benefits for both individuals and their institutions.

Benefits to individuals 

Benefits to organisations 

It is widely recognised in HE in the UK and internationally as difficult to achieve and a mark of quality as awards are made each year from a large number of nominations.

Increasingly used as a model to develop and extend university-wide schemes, aiming to raise the status of teaching and instil pride in the profession and student learning.

It opens doors – NTFs use the award as a springboard to progress their careers.

Can be a focal point for discussions about innovation and professional development – past NTFS funding has enabled NTFs to capitalise on their status and bid for extra funding for research and projects to enhance learning and teaching.

You join a national community of like-minded professionals who are passionate about teaching.

Can enable staff to cross boundaries, collaborating with colleagues in other disciplines and forging links with universities nationally and internationally.


How to apply

The process of submitting NTFS applications has changed slightly this year as we move to using an online system for submissions. 

  1. In order to apply institutions must nominate one NTFS contact or coordinator who will inform the HEA team of their intention to send in an application. You can do this by emailing
  2. Once you have pre-registered a username and log in will be sent to you
  3. Each institution can submit applications for up to three NTFs
  4. To complete the application submission the NTFS contact or coordinate must upload all required documents to the online system in a Zip file before the closing date, 25 April 2017
  5. Nominees will be informed of the outcomes in August 2017 and the National Teaching Fellowships will be awarded at a celebratory event in November 2017.

Get your nomination form and guidance notes now

Further advice and guidance for nominations


Past winners

Each of the past winners has demonstrated evidence of:

  • enhancing and transforming the student learning experience both within and beyond the nominees' own and immediate institutional context;
  • supporting colleagues in their teaching and learning work;
  • developing their own excellence in teaching.



If you would like to gain some inspiration and find out more about past winners review the Directory of NTFs below.

Directory of NTFs

The Association of National Teaching Fellows

As a new NTF you automatically become a member of the Association of National Teaching Fellows (ANTF), an active community working to enhance learning and teaching. New NTFs are inducted into the Association. You’ll meet other fellows at ANTF events and by getting involved in ANTF work.

NTFs are often invited to work with other HE institutions and organisations across the sector and beyond. The first ANTF book, For the Love of Learning, edited by Tim Bilham, NTF 2007, with help from Professor Sally Brown, NTF 2008, was published in 2013. The Association, supported by the HEA, holds an annual symposium, with guest speakers and key activities to develop new opportunities and collaborative work.