search icon

National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS)

Now in its 15th year, the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) celebrates outstanding achievement in learning and teaching in higher education.

The awards support individuals’ professional development in learning and teaching. Success depends only on excellence, not what stage you’re at in your career. The awards are presented at a prestigious ceremony, attracting national and regional media interest.

A community of excellence

Receiving an award is just the beginning. National Teaching Fellows (NTFs) are an active community of passionate and enthusiastic professionals, working to enhance learning and teaching in their institutions and the sector. There are currently 643 NTFs, representing more than 40 discipline areas.

Read Why become a National Teaching Fellow?

NTFS 2015

The call for NTFS 2015 is now closed.

To support nominees through their nomination the HEA produced a range of guidance materials for the 2015 round. For anyone interested in the Scheme these can still be found on our NTFS resources page here.

Scheme funding

The HEA manages NTFS on behalf of the funders – the Higher Education Funding Council for England, the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales, and the Department for Employment and Learning in Northern Ireland. We also provide support for individual NTFs and the Association of National Teaching Fellows (ANTF). Information about funding for NTFS 2015 can be found here.