Guide to the process

Each year we invite eligible institutions to nominate up to three members of staff to become a NTF. The call for nominations opened on 15 October 2014.

The nomination is submitted by the institution and the claim is written by the individual nominee. Making an NTF nomination is straightforward:


NTFS is open to many HE and FE institutions in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Check Eligibility


The nominee writes the claim for fellowship and completes the forms required. The institution writes the statement of support and manages the process by collating and submitting all the documentation.

Check Nomination


Each nomination is assessed by two independent peer reviewers for:

  • individual excellence
  • raising the profile of excellence
  • developing excellence

Check Assessment


Reviewers are normally National Teaching Fellows or HEA Fellows, who provide their time and expertise voluntarily. The reviewing process is moderated by the NTFS Advisory Panel.

Check Reviewers


The decision to award National Teaching Fellowships is made by the NTFS Advisory Panel. All nominees get feedback on their nominations.

Check Outcomes and Assessment


Awards from 2010-14 must be spent within three years on the nominee’s teaching and learning professional development. The award winners are required to produce yearly reports.

Check Managing the award.