search icon

National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS)

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) celebrates excellent practice and outstanding achievement in learning and teaching in higher education.

The awards support individuals’ professional development in learning and teaching. Success depends only on excellence, not what stage you are at in your career. The awards are presented at a prestigious ceremony, attracting national and regional media interest.

The HEA manages NTFS on behalf of the funders – the Higher Education Funding Council for England, the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales, and the Department for Employment and Learning in Northern Ireland.

A community of excellence

Being awarded a National Teaching Fellowship is just the beginning. National Teaching Fellows (NTFs) are an active community of passionate and enthusiastic professionals, working to enhance learning and teaching in their institutions and the sector. There are currently nearly 700 NTFs, representing more than 40 discipline areas. We provide support for individual NTFs and the Association of National Teaching Fellows (ANTF).

Read: Why become a National Teaching Fellow?

Read: Inspiring teaching: NTFs share innovative pedagogical practices in this series of written portraits.

NTFS 2016

Reward and recognition of teaching excellence remains a top priority for the HEA and for the UK funding bodies. In light of national developments, we are currently reviewing how the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme can best identify and recognise teaching excellence across the sector, and to promote the sharing of best practice. Future HEFCE funding for the NTFS will need to be agreed at the HEFCE Board in early Spring, and will also be dependent on outcomes from, and implications of, the annual BIS grant letter. Consequently we won’t be publishing details of the 2016 NTFS scheme until the Spring after the level of funding is agreed.