Guide to the process

Each year we invite eligible institutions to nominate up to three members of staff to become a NTF. The call for 2016 nominations opened on 12 May 2016 and closes on 28 July 2016.

The nomination is submitted by the institution and the claim is written by the individual nominee. Making a NTF nomination is straightforward:


NTFS is open to Higher Education Providers in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland including Private Providers.

Check Eligibility


The nominee writes a claim for a National Teaching Fellowship and completes the forms required. Their institution writes a statement of support and manages the process by collating and submitting all the documentation.

Check Nomination


Each nomination is assessed by independent peer reviewers for:

  • individual excellence
  • raising the profile of excellence
  • developing excellence

Check Assessment


Reviewers are normally National Teaching Fellows or HEA Fellows (any category), who provide their time and expertise voluntarily. The reviewing process is moderated by the Awards Panel.

Check Reviewers


The decision to award National Teaching Fellowships is made by the Awards Panel. All nominees receive feedback on their nominations.

Check Outcomes and Assessment


Awards must be spent within three years on the nominee’s teaching and learning professional development and should enable dissemination of their innovative practice across the sector. Award winners are required to produce yearly reports: two interim reports and a final report.

Check Managing the award.