Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence (CATE)

The Higher Education Academy is very pleased to establish a new award scheme for 2016: the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE). CATE is funded by HEFCE, HEFCW and the Department of Economy (DfE) Northern Ireland (now incorporating the responsibilities of DELNI). These awards aim to celebrate collaborative work in teaching and learning and look to capture the creative and innovative practice that positively impacts on the student experience. 2016 is a pilot year for the CATE award scheme so comments on the scheme will be actively sought (comments can be sent to:

Submission for 2016 has now closed. The second stage is complete and we have a shortlist of institutions. Profiles for all 15 shortlisted teams can be viewed under the CATE 2016 webpage.

We congratulate the following institutions who have been shortlisted. The six overall CATE winners will be announced at the HEA Awards Ceremony in London on 25 January.

CATE shortlisted institutions

  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Brunel University
  • Imperial College, London
  • Liverpool Hope University
  • Newcastle University
  • Northumbria University
  • Pearson College London
  • Plymouth University
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • Sunderland University
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Gloucestershire
  • University of Hull
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Liverpool



All the key documentation for the scheme is provided below. The other webpages in this section will give you insights into the award process, assessment and outcomes:

If you have any queries about the new award, then please contact the awards team:


Last updated: 
Tuesday, 13 December, 2016