National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS)

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) celebrates excellent practice and outstanding achievement in learning and teaching in higher education.

The awards support individuals’ professional development in learning and teaching. Success depends only on excellence, not what stage you are at in your career. The awards are presented at a prestigious ceremony, attracting national and regional media interest.

The HEA manages NTFS on behalf of the funders – the Higher Education Funding Council for England, the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales, and the Department for the Economy (DfE) Northern Ireland (now incorporating the responsibilities of DELNI).

The funding has now been agreed in principle for NTFS and CATE in 2017. Whilst the HEA is currently pursuing options to enable an online platform for NTFS and CATE submissions, HE providers are asked to declare their intention to nominate by emailing and respectively by 31 January 2017.               

A community of excellence

Being awarded a National Teaching Fellowship is just the beginning. National Teaching Fellows (NTFs) are an active community of passionate and enthusiastic professionals, working to enhance learning and teaching in their institutions and the sector. There are currently nearly 700 NTFs, representing more than 40 discipline areas. The HEA provides support for individual NTFs and the Association of National Teaching Fellows (ANTF).

Read: Why become a National Teaching Fellow?

Read: Inspiring teaching: NTFs share innovative pedagogical practices in this series of written portraits.

Last updated: 
Wednesday, 2 November, 2016